The tetracon is the first member of the polycon family. Its name is derived from the word tetragon, implying the square shape of its middle cross section. I introduced it for the first time in 1980 in a patent named ‘A device for generating a meander motion’. It was independently discovered by C. J. Roberts who published his discovery 19 years later and named it sphericon.
The tetracon’s surface circumscribes three Platonic polyhedra:
tetrahedron, cube, and octahedron.